November 9, 2014

Saint Nektarios on the Seven Mysteries of the Church


By St. Nektarios the Wonderworker

(from his book Pastorals)

What is Baptism?

Baptism, according to Symeon of Thessaloniki, is the beginning and preparation towards appropriating God and the heavenly inheritance and a bathing of regeneration that purifies the one baptized from the pollution of sin, regenerating unto life eternal.

What is Chrismation?

Chrism, also called Holy Myrrh, is the visible sign and seal of Christ. Myrrh is the perfecting anointing that gives a sweet odor to the one who has been perfected and the divine Spirit is united with them. (Dionysius the Areopagite, The Celestial Hierarchy)

What is the Eucharist?

The Eucharist is the spiritual food that enlivens the soul and brings man into direct communion with Christ. (Gabriel of Philadelphia, On the Mysteries)

What is the Priesthood?

The Priesthood is an order of the divine mysteries that has perceptible spiritual power operated by people who are males, for the salvation of mankind and their help, which has been given to them by the Savior.

What is Repentance?

Repentance is a bath of purification of our sins and a return from an unnatural state to a natural state and from the devil to Christ.

What is Marriage?

Marriage is a blessing and sanctification for those who come together in marital communion as a blessing and sanctification from the beginning of the human race.

What is Anointing?

Anointing is a consecration and a reminder of the old miracle, oftentimes performed for those dying an untimely death. Anointing is the healing of the soul and the body.

: Translated by John Sanidopoulos.