Featured Post

Saints and Feasts of October 23

Friday, November 12, 2010

The Church of Saint Nilus the Myrrhgusher in Piraeus

In 1928, at the initiative of Helen Mamai, a resident of Piraeus who hailed from the village of Hagios Petros in Kinouria (the village from where St. Nilus was from), a club was formed called the "Brotherhood of the Lords and Ladies of Saint Nilus the Myrrhgusher" whose sole purpose was to build the first and only church dedicated to Saint Nilus in all of Greece. The land on which the church was built is in Hatzikyriakio of Piraeus, near Hatzikyriakio Orphanage and the Naval Academy, at the corners George Theotokis, Herodotus, Antonios Theoharis, Spyridon Trikoupis (Γεωργίου Θεοτόκη, Ηροδότου, Αντωνίου Θεοχάρη, Σπυρίδωνος Τρικούπη).

Construction on the church began in 1928 and was used for worship in 1931. Originally it was a private church, but at the instruction of the Archbishop of Athens it became a public parish in 1932. Because it was initially a small church, in 1956 the building was expanded and today it stands as one of the largest churches in the entire Metropolis of Piraeus.

For the life of St. Nilus, who is commemorated on November 12 and May 7, read also: Saint Nilus the Myrrh-Gusher and His Prophecies.
Currently we have 113 monthly supporters. Our goal is to have 500 monthly supporters.

To read more about supporting the ministry of the Mystagogy Resource Center, either as a monthly supporter or an annual supporter, please visit the DONATE page.

Thank you!

Please Visit Our Sponsors